Birmingham City Council’s new Cabinet has been announced. At the annual meeting of the council in the Council Chamber, Councillor John Cotton was confirmed as the new Leader of the city council, while Cllr Sharon Thompson was confirmed as Deputy Leader.

Cllr Cotton also announced the rest of his Cabinet, which sees Cllrs Salma Suleman and Nicky Brennan join existing Cabinet Members Brigid Jones, Karen McCarthy, Jayne Francis, Majid Mahmood, Liz Clements and Mariam Khan.

Cllr Cotton said: "I'm proud to be working with a talented team that has the vision, ability and experience to really take the city forward. The cabinet is 80 per cent female and also reflects the amazing diversity of our great city. We're ready to work with and for every single community to deliver the service improvements our citizens deserve."

Full list of the Cabinet:

Cllr John Cotton – Leader

Cllr Sharon Thompson – Deputy Leader

Cllr Brigid Jones – Finance

Cllr Jayne Francis – Housing & Homelessness

Cllr Majid Mahmood – Environment

Cllr Liz Clements – Transport

Cllr Karen McCarthy – Children, Young People & Families

Cllr Mariam Khan – Health & Social Care

Cllr Salma Suleman – Digital, Culture, Heritage & Tourism

Cllr Nicky Brennan – Social Justice, Community Safety & Equalities