Martinique was the big winner at this year's Caribbean Tourism Organization (CTO) Travel Media Awards with journalists producing articles promoting travel to The Isle of Flowers earning five of the 10 top honors. Honored journalists and their Martinique stories are as follows:

Best Feature Article In A Consumer Magazine

Jad Davenport – Islands – Proof of Paradise (Martinique)

Best Feature In A Consumer Newspaper

Baz Dreisinger – New York Times – On a Caribbean Rum Trail (Barbados/Jamaica/Martinique)

Best Feature Article In A Trade Publication

Brian Major – Travel Pulse – History Lessons Live at Martinique’s La Savane des Esclaves (Martinique)

Best Feature by a US or Caribbean Journalist that appeared in Foreign Media

Samantha Diaz – El Nueva Dia – Una Francia en el Caribe (Martinique)

Best of the Best

Baz Dreisinger – New York Times – On a Caribbean Rum Trail (Barbados/Jamaica/Martinique)

“These awards are a wonderful validation of the growing attractiveness of our tourism product within the U.S. and Caribbean markets, as well as the tremendous effort being put forth by our communications team who works so closely with the U.S. media to achieve such great results,” said Muriel Wiltord, Director Americas for the Martinique Promotion Bureau. “Our heartfelt congratulations go out to all of our journalist friends receiving awards, they indeed with brio, captured the essence of Martinique’s DNA.

The 2015 CTO Travel Media Awards were presented at an exclusive awards luncheon co-sponsored by The New York Times and the Jamaica Tourist Board held June 4, 2015 at the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel in New York City. Awards were presented in 10 categories recognizing outstanding coverage of the Caribbean region.

Winners were selected from among 125 entries by a panel of media and public relations experts led by chief judge, Yuriy Boykiv, CEO of Findr Group, a leading group of advertising and communications agencies. Other judges included Josh Khan, Khan Travel Communications; Steven Lott, director of international corporate communications at The Boeing Company; Jeffrey Ory, president and CEO of ilStratega and chair of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) Travel & Tourism Section; and Deborah Wakefield, VP of communications and public relations at City PASS® and chair of the associates council of the Society of American Travel Writers (SATW).