Dr. the Honorable Keith Rowley was sworn in as Trinidad and Tobago’s seventh Prime Minister at a ceremony held on Wednesday, September 9, 2015, at Queen’s Hall, Port of Spain. Also being sworn in by President Anthony Carmona was National Security Minister the Honorable Edmund Dillon, a retired Major General, and the new Attorney General the Honorable Faris Al-Rawi.

Trinidad and Tobago elected a new government following general elections held on Monday, September 7, 2015, which saw the People’s National Movement defeat the incumbent People’s Partnership Government, led by former Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar, by winning 23 seats to the incumbent’s 18.

Speaking to reporters following the ceremony, the new Prime Minister said that a Finance Minister would be sworn in by Friday, with the rest of his Cabinet being sworn in next week