The Electoral Commission of Jamaica (ECJ) has just announced a new appointment.

The Commission has just declared that The Honourable Earl Jarrett O.J., C.D. J.P., Hon. LL.D. has been appointed as its new Chair following a selection process that was undertaken by the commission’s four members and under the Electoral Commission (Interim) Act 2006 which states that; “the selected commissioners shall select one of the number to be chairman of the commission and so inform the Governor General.”

Under the previous chair, The Honourable Dorothy Pine-McLarty, who has now retired after 19-years of service, he was originally appointed to the electoral commission, as a select commissioner, in 2013.

A graduate of the University of the West Indies and now a Chartered Accountant, among the grand number of post he has, or still holds, he is, or has been, the Honorary Secretary of the Private Sector Organisation of Jamaica, the North American Regional Director of the FIA; a Director of the Edna Marley College Art Foundation, Chair of the Jamaican Diaspora Foundation and is a member of the Executive Board of the Caribbean Association of Housing Finance Institute (CASHFI).

She (Mrs Pine-McLarty) joined the Electoral Advisory Commission, as a Select Commissioner, in 2000.